External Advisory Committee

External Advisory Committee (EAC)

The EAC will provide the CIEPAC with guidance and input on strategic planning, development and implementation of research, training, and outreach programs, and help monitor progress and evaluate performance. The EAC is comprised of the following five members:

Susan P. Baker, MPH, ScD (hon), is Professor of Health Policy and Management at the Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health. She was the founding director of the Hopkins Center for Injury Research and Policy, one of the first CDC-funded ICRCs.

Kitty Gelberg, PhD, MPH is Director of the Bureau of Occupational Health and Injury Prevention, Division of Environmental Health Assessment, New York State Department of Health. Dr. Gelberg oversees the statewide injury prevention programs, the occupational health surveillance programs, and a network of clinics specializing in occupational injury and illness.

Catherine Stayton, DrPH, is Director of the Injury Epidemiology Unit in the Bureau of Epidemiology Services at the New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene. She oversees the citywide injury surveillance systems.

Dario Gonzalez, MD, is the Medical Director for the New York City Office of Emergency Management and Associate Medical Director for the New York City Fire Department Emergency Medical Services. He has extensive clinical experience in emergency medicine and advanced trauma care.

Angelo Ortiz, LCSW-R, is the Director of Youth Services, Inwood Community Services, and Coordinator of the UNIDOS Coalition.  He has worked as a certified clinical social worker in the Northern Manhattan community for many years and has led the development of community-based intervention programs to prevent substance abuse, injury, and violence among adolescents.